In just a few short months, the London Mayoral elections will be in full swing.

The current Labour Mayor Sadiq Khan will be hoping to win a third time against the Conservatives Susan Hall and the Liberal Democrats Rob Blackie to name a few.

However, before voting kicks off on May 2, there are a few key things any Londoner should know about the role of the London Mayor.

From how long a term lasts, to how many times a Mayor can be re-elected, this is what to know about the role.

The role of the Mayor of London does not have a limit on how many terms you can serve.

Since Londoners began to vote for the role in 2000, the capital has only had three Mayors.

They are: Ken Livingstone (2000-2008), Boris Johnson (2008-2016) and Sadiq Khan (2016-present).

All have served eight years, however, as there is no limit on how long a Mayor can serve, their time as Mayor could’ve lasted even longer.

How many times can a Mayor of London be re-elected?

As there is no limit on how long a Mayor can serve, there is also no limit on the number of times a candidate can be re-elected into the role.

That means, that if Sadiq Khan wins his third time in the role, it would be record-breaking and see him become the longest-serving elected Mayor.

See News Shopper


Hayes (Kent) Village Association

The Association was founded in 1933 to protect the interests of residents and preserve the local amenities.

Scroll Up


This website contains content supplied by third parties.  Information contained herein does not constitute or imply an endorsement or recommendation by Hayes (Kent) Village Association